How to set ENABLE_COURSEWARE_SEARCH flag in configuration

Hi. I am new to tutor and I am trying to set the ENABLE_COURSEWARE_SEARCH flag to false.

Things I have tried so far:

1. Setting the following value in ~/.local/share/tutor/config.yml:
    FEATURES:
      ENABLE_COURSEWARE_SEARCH: false
  1. Setting the following value in ~/.local/share/tutor/env/apps/openedx/settings/lms/common.py:

FEATURES["ENABLE_COURSEWARE_SEARCH"] = False

For both, I then run tutor config save.
However, the ~/.local/share/tutor/env/apps/openedx/config/lms.env.json file that is generated, still has the following:

"FEATURES": {
    "ENABLE_COURSEWARE_SEARCH": true
}

Any ideas?

1 Like

Hi @PavlosIsaris! Your changes to any file in env/ are overwritten whenever you run tutor config save. See the docs: https://docs.tutor.overhang.io/intro.html#how-does-tutor-work

To modify the settings, you should create a small plugin. See the docs on how to create such a plugin: https://docs.tutor.overhang.io/plugins/gettingstarted.html#yaml-file

In your case, your plugin will look like this:

name: disablecoursewaresearch
version: 0.1.0
patches:
  openedx-common-settings: |
    # disable courseware search

@regis thanks for your quick response!
I created the plugin with the contents you suggested, and it works as expected.

I find it funny though to have to create a plugin for changing the configuration of a framework. It is not something common…

Do I need to run tutor config save, every time I update the contents of the plugin?